Xeon 5600 series brings six-core chips to 2P systems

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Schnooper, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. Schnooper

    Schnooper Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    790
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2010
  2. cyanpixie

    cyanpixie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    Albany Creek, Brisbane
    They will be VERY cool indeed. We are waiting for the Server manufacturers to release servers with them inside and we are going to get a couple. They are going to be kick-ass SQL servers. :leet:
     
  3. koolio1234

    koolio1234 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Western Sydney
    looking good but waaaayyy out of my price range as i expected :upset:
     
  4. 3t3rna1

    3t3rna1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,452
    Location:
    Perth
    Sweeeeet, 6 core shenanigans.

    Any idea when they will hit the Aus shores?
     
  5. 3Tone

    3Tone (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Just in time for me to order my 2x new VMware ESX hosts. :)
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Schnooper

    Schnooper Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    790
    I think that you will find that they have already appeared on the pricing books, and I believe that there will be a very small price increase across the board, when comparing the same clock speed servers from the 5500 series range.
     
  7. 3Tone

    3Tone (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I'm looking at 2x HP DL380 G7's. I have spoken to our supplier and while the older 45nm 6-cores are available, the silly bitch knew nothing about these new 32nm Xeons.

    Oh well... must wait a couple more weeks.
     
  8. jastormont

    jastormont Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,197
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I am just about to go into a meeting with my CIO about getting new VM Ware boxes and spec'ing these up but I feel we will need to do this before they are available. :(
     
  9. cyanpixie

    cyanpixie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    Albany Creek, Brisbane
    I have installed mine - 24 processors in Task manager - sweet.
     
  10. 3Tone

    3Tone (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Not virtualising cyanpixie?
     
  11. cyanpixie

    cyanpixie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    Albany Creek, Brisbane

    Nope - already got a brand new ESX farm - just wanna run SQL on these.
     

Share This Page