xeon e3-1220 v3 HAL error

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Eisenhorn, Jun 15, 2016.

  1. Eisenhorn

    Eisenhorn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Bought a e3-1220 v3 off the forums for my gfs pc to upgrade from a g3258 it ran great for about 2 months then would crash randomly between 10mins of on time - 2 hours of on time. WHOCRASHED showed it was a HAL.DLL error. for some reason i had the feeling it was the cpu so i changed back to the pentium and it ran for a week with no crashes. I then put the xeon back in incase i didnt have it seated properly and it kept crashing.

    Is this fixable or is that cpu now a expensive mini coaster?
    have updated everything possible, have tried different ram the only things i havent changed are the hdd, psu and motherboard.
     
  2. OP
    OP
    Eisenhorn

    Eisenhorn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Adelaide
    no ones had this error before?
     
  3. negatron

    negatron Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,280
    its an odd one, sounds like its sending / using an instruction that that the cpu doesn't understand.

    Is the CPU documented to fully support the CPU?

    Is the mobo on its latest bios?


    if those are done then i'm all out of ideas, I'd be happy to take it off yours hands to test it on my ML10v2 though :lol:
     
  4. Sven76

    Sven76 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,386
    Location:
    Bundaberg
    A Hal.dll error usually indicates a hardware failure and if you change the cpu out and the error doesn't happen it does tend to point to the cpu.

    However Hal.dll's errors are created differently in different versions of windows so that has a bearing on this. Secondly not all motherboard support Xeon cpu's have you checked that as well?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Eisenhorn

    Eisenhorn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Its got on it windows 7, and the motherboard is a asrock b85m pro 3 which it says supports that xeon, i am unsure if its the latest bios. Was running fine for 2 months.
     
  6. Renza

    Renza Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,661
    Location:
    Melbourne
    did you try reinstalling the OS?
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Eisenhorn

    Eisenhorn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Adelaide
    nope, sending it to another guy and he is gonna test it in his 1150 mobo.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: