Xiaomi Mi Box

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by MR CHILLED, Jun 28, 2017.

  1. Renza

    Renza Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,649
    Location:
    Adelaide, 5051
    Set up Plex on your nas if it supports it. It's a lot nicer than Kodi for media IMO, and it integrates with the suggestions on the home screen.
     
  2. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    12,679
    Location:
    Newcastle


    Mjpopcorn.gif
     
  3. Carcin0Genic

    Carcin0Genic Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,575
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    At a quick glance the nas doesnt support it, or support it easily.
    So far in using the kodi app i quite like it, is there any add ons i could use to get it to recommend to home screen? Main thing i want there is "newly added", but i dont want to loose the netflix and stan recommendations, as we use them a fair bit.
     
  4. grrrr

    grrrr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    871
    Location:
    Cornubia
    kodi will play stuff of a nas just fine.

    You really need Android (TV) to play netflix (or Micro$oft)
     
  5. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,651
    Location:
    Canadia
    Can you link to the adapter so others can see what works?
     
  6. B.D.R

    B.D.R Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,300
    Stupid question.

    I have Fetch TV, would one of these box things replace that ya reckon?

    Also is it TV retard workable, as in just plug it in, and it starts to work?

    Don't want to get one, and then have to fuck around for days on end just to keep the ratbags happy:lol:
     
  7. NerfDude

    NerfDude Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    407
    Location:
    Victoria,Australia
    If you rely on a fetch TV subscription then this box is not suitable.

    If you just watch Netflix/YouTube/plex/kodi then it will work.

    You need a gmail account to set it up.
     
  8. Carcin0Genic

    Carcin0Genic Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,575
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    Is anyone having issues with netflix? It is playing the first 30 seconds to a minute then coming up with an error. The error description is just "there was an error", not very helpfull.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,651
    Location:
    Canadia
  10. Andy3008

    Andy3008 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Paradise City 5075
    I just grabbed one of these after trading my shield tv and works a treat, but where in hell is the power off ? all mine has is reboot and restart. Pressing the red button on the remote just puts it to sleep.
     
  11. darknebula

    darknebula Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Location:
    Frankston
    There Is no power off ;)
     
  12. Andy3008

    Andy3008 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Paradise City 5075
    That's just dandy, sleep mode it is. Too used to the shields power options.
     
  13. Carcin0Genic

    Carcin0Genic Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,575
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    Reboot fixed this for about a week however issue returned today. Doesnt give an error code, just says there was an issue with playback.
    Have rebooted again, see how it goes lol.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,651
    Location:
    Canadia
    Yeah I used standby to power the device off. If a reset is required (rarely if ever) I pull the plug.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,651
    Location:
    Canadia
  16. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,651
    Location:
    Canadia
  17. downforce

    downforce Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Location:
    Thornlie, WA
    <EDIT> Whoop, missed the code.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,651
    Location:
    Canadia
  19. downforce

    downforce Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Location:
    Thornlie, WA
    Procrastination! Hahha
     
    MR CHILLED likes this.
  20. Strange1

    Strange1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,198
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    Blargh the one I ordered from eBay Australia is asking for a chinese phone number to complete setup :(
     

Share This Page