1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Xiaomi XiaoFang with Synology Surveillance Software

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by rockuman_ex, Aug 21, 2017.

  1. rockuman_ex

    rockuman_ex Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,840
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Not sure if this has been asked before, but I searched and found nothing.



    Anyway, anyone know how to connect these to Synology Surveillance Software?


    I've applied my camera with this hack https://github.com/samtap/fang-hacks


    I have no problem connecting the cam with my Android phone (RTSP), but I'm having problem connecting the cam to my Synology NAS Surveillance software.


    Help?
     
  2. OP
    OP
    rockuman_ex

    rockuman_ex Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,840
    Location:
    Brisbane
    surely someone here has one?
     
  3. whatisk

    whatisk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Just recently got one of these to have a play with.

    To connect to Surveillance Station do the following:
    Select Add through IP Camera (I just used Quick Setup)
    For Brand select [User Define] (very top option)

    For the various fields:
    Name: whatever you want the camera named
    IP Address: IP address of camera
    Port: 554
    Source Path: /unicast

    Click on Test Connection and should connect to the camera.

    For some reason I can't see the stream on my phone (Android) using the DS Cam app. It spends ages trying to connect then errors. No issues with TinyCam though - apart from my crappy upload speed (around 100 KB/s). Maybe this is the cause of the issue I'm having with DS Cam.
     
  4. BGH

    BGH Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,353
    Location:
    You stay classy Melbourne
    I have no issue seeing mine in Android DS cam using your settings.
     
  5. whatisk

    whatisk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yeah, I don't know what the issue is. With TinyCam it takes a while to get the picture up (~30sec) and drops a lot of frames. Currently just using it with the Mi Home app as it works. I'll have more of a play at some point and try to figure out what's happening.

    Edit: Okay issues seemed to be that I had the use HTTPS box ticked on the login page for the app. Unticked that and now all good...
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2017
  6. warrenr

    warrenr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,147
    Location:
    3149
    I'm stuck at putting the hack on the sd card :(
    I used the win32 app and downloaded their image. the app wrote the 1st partition ok, but created a black 2nd one? On exit windows tried to format that partition (I saw on github that the data was meant to be there?)
    I even tried formatting the partition as exfat and manually copying data there
    1st partition was fat32 with with the bootstrap folder and snx.autorun.sh
    did you just use the app and nothing else? I've tried on 2 win10 machines and both did the same thing
     
  7. whatisk

    whatisk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Brisbane
    It's been a while now since I've done it, but all I would have done would be follow the directions. I didn't bother looking at the partitions to see what was there. The data could have been on the second partition okay, but windows is not able to read it and so that is why it prompted to format it. I just recently got a Raspberry Pi and when I installed an OS on that there were 3 partitions created. One I could access fine in Win 10. The other 2 I was prompted to format when I clicked on them.

    Once you used win32 app did you try the card in the camera?
     
  8. warrenr

    warrenr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,147
    Location:
    3149
    turned out I had to downgrade the firmware in order for the hack to work.
    step 2 is to work out how to edit the files so it autoboots and has the rtps on autostart. manually it worked fine in the end - was even able to record to the server. auto email alerts will be the final step :)
     
  9. whatisk

    whatisk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Glad you got it sorted. I didn't think any file modifications were needed for rtsp? You log into the web interface and enable/disable protocols from there.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: