Xtreme Cooled Case Gallery

Discussion in 'Extreme and Water Cooling' started by spikes, Aug 17, 2007.

  1. RhysG

    RhysG Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,010
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Can any of you WC gurus tell me if putting a Y splitter on the tube coming from the Rad to divert flow to the CPU and GPU simultaneously would be wise? Or go RAD->CPU->GPU->RES? Pump would be a D5 with a Hardware Labs Black Ice SR1 420 radiator. I may have room to chuck another rad in for the GPU but not keen on it (then it would be PUMP-RAD-CPU-RAD-GPU-RES). Specs in sig, GPU will be different (maybe a dual GPU fermi or one of the next gen cards to come in late 2011).
     
  2. milkguru

    milkguru Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    I definitely wouldnt recommend using a splitter for the waterblocks, because youre significantly decreasing the flow by putting them in parallel. Maybe in some circumstances for external rads.

    Your 420 will be more than enough for cpu + gpu. You dont need to have a rad before every waterblock. The water temperate in your loop reaches an equilibrium and will be approximately the same temp (by a few C) anywhere in the loop.
    This is because the water is flowing at such a fast rate that it doesnt have enough time to heat up significantly when it passes through a waterblock. But because there is a large amount of water constantly flowing through it at a constant pace, overall it is able to cool down your components significantly.
    This was discussed in one of my threads about a week ago, this post should explain it in further detail http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showpost.php?p=12888437&postcount=21
     
  3. Darkness Born

    Darkness Born Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    740
    Location:
    Melbourne 3004
    Intense UV coolant man, what colour is that? Where can I get this!?
     
  4. Darkness Born

    Darkness Born Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    740
    Location:
    Melbourne 3004
    Hey man I'm hoping on WC'ing a HAF X too, and with the XSPC RX360, did you have to remove a fan cos it doesn't fit in there? have seen a couple that got it in, must be mobo dependant (tall heatsinks?) let me know if you got that last fan on!
     
  5. Bolter01

    Bolter01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    NSW
    Anascension

    [​IMG]

    i72600k - Maximus 4 Extreme - 8GB Vengence C8 - HD5970 Koolance VID579

    [​IMG]

    2x Thermochill PA 120.3's

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8,940
    Location:
    Hella south west
    Why is the sun located in the front of your PC?
     
  7. Bolter01

    Bolter01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    NSW
    Its not really the Sun - just a magnetically contained super nova for Load Line Calibration.
     
  8. Phatboy69

    Phatboy69 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  9. brayway

    brayway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,721
    Location:
    Dun - New Zealand
    Yay finally got it all installed!
    Just need better ram, a ram block, and the 2 other GPU blocks :thumbup:
    Currently got:
    Lund Pom Plex Res
    2X 480MM rads, 1 EK and the other a Black Ice GTX
    and currently 4 fans on each rad, eventually should be 8 on each :lol::thumbup:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  10. silverbullet

    silverbullet Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Marcoola, Sunshine Coast
    I actually don't mind that, it looks very good...i guess you doing the ramblock gig for looks? well done though, very nice :thumbup:

    Dunno what you used to mount your D5 and EK top to the case but i just pulled mine out before and put some Scotch double sided tape on the bottom to attach it to the case (the white stuff without about 3mm sponge in it) and it isolates very well...can't hear it at all now with the pump set to #4.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2011
  11. brayway

    brayway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,721
    Location:
    Dun - New Zealand
    Thanks!
    Got mine on 4 ATM, and have it stuck with some double sided foam tape i bought from IGA for like 99c :lol:
    can hardly hear it :thumbup: loudest thing is the fans which is only a slight hum on low :thumbup:
     
  12. silverbullet

    silverbullet Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Marcoola, Sunshine Coast
    I find if running it on less than #4 with multiple blocks then its a bitch to bleed and i get airtraps, of course you could drop it back a bitch once the loop is bled but it's so quiet i don't see the need to.
     
  13. brayway

    brayway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,721
    Location:
    Dun - New Zealand
    Yea, i left mine running over night to bleed, and it seems to have done the job so far :thumbup:
     
  14. silverbullet

    silverbullet Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Marcoola, Sunshine Coast
    Make sure you tilt the case over gently in all directions to make sure their are no airtraps in the top of the radiators ;) just running the pump till all air bubbles are gone visually does not always mean just that.
     
  15. VIP3R

    VIP3R Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    1,599
    Location:
    Carlton, Sydney
    Quick update on my case, fitted a FC block from EK on my 6950 had to run the tubing a little funky but im happy with it.

    [​IMG]
     
  16. Bolter01

    Bolter01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    NSW
    That Extended Ascension would have saved me dome trouble- believe it or not things got tight with the horizontal Mobo

    Bray that's Really Tidy - Love it :thumbup:
    Looks great black and white - though I cant tell whats happening to the bottom fitting on your G card? looks "bent" I'm sure its not, but whats the fitting?
     
  17. Bolter01

    Bolter01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    NSW
    Good Call :thumbup: essential - both my WC builds had trapped bubbles - can really affect temps if there in the wrong spot
     
  18. brayway

    brayway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,721
    Location:
    Dun - New Zealand
    The tube is a little annoying :Paranoid:
    will fix it up with more fittings when i add the other 2 cards into the loop in a couple of weeks:thumbup:
     
  19. nipper575

    nipper575 Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    924
    [​IMG]

    Changed tubing to primoflex 7/16" ID, BP pump top, moved res and installed a i7 920 I grabbed off the forum. GPU blocks will be added when I have GPUs worth water cooling.

    Few things I don't like, cabling needs to improve for a start but the most annoying thing is that the BP top can't take barbs on the inlet and outlet at the same time. They physically fit but the tubing is practically impossible to have on both barbs at once. Not too upset though, supposedly the 90' bend in the top's inlet is more restrictive than having a 90' mounted and the usual horizontal inlet.
     
  20. WuzzA21

    WuzzA21 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,371
    What rad do you have?
    And is your CPU overclocked?
     

Share This Page