1. Win some Team Group goodies in OCAU's latest contest!
    Dismiss Notice

Year 2000 - Ultimate 3DFX Machine Build

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by SWZSSR, Jun 26, 2018.

1. SWZSSR

SWZSSR Member

1. Welcome

Hi guys

My name is Declan from Adelaide. It's my first time posting on here, yet alone posting a build log! This is my Year 2000 Build with a few modern parts to improve performance and reliability. I have another 11 builds in progress, I'm a very large collector of old computer gear and can't wait to share my adventures!

So let's get to it!

2. The Specs
    CPU: Currently Dual Pentium 3 450mhz Slot 1. Later Dual 1,4ghz Tualatins on Modified MSI Slot-keys
    Motherboard: Intel OR840
    Ram: 2GB PC-800 Rambus. Four 512MB Sticks
    Soundcard: Diamond Monster Sound MX-300
    SATA Controller: Promise SATA300 TX4
    HDD OS: Kingston 60GB SSD
    HDD Storage: 500GB WD Blue

3. Acquiring the Parts

The Motherboard
    First on the list was to acquire a OR840. This is a legendary board between 1999-2000 with AGP4X, I840 Chipset, and Rambus Support. It was even used in the Maximum PC - Dream Machine 2000! After seeing a friends OR840 build (silvercr from Vogons) I messaged him and found out he had a spare. I brought his IBM OR840 board along with Two MSI Slotkeys that have been modified by him. After a few weeks the board and slotkeys arrived (Massive thanks to silvercr from Vogons)

[​IMG]

Finding the Ram

Luckily I had the ram already from a Intel D850 board I got back in 2011. This was a $80 ebay buy from America!. 2GB of Rambus back in 2000 would be well over $1800AUD!

[​IMG]

Finding a Case

This was a hard decision for me. The original plan was to use my Addtronics 7896 but after discovering that the power supply has no aux, let alone being quite old I couldn't trust it with this build. So after poking around on facebook for a week, I found a cheap fractal design case on the market place for $50. 20 Minute drive later, I now have a case