Yet Another Briefcase PC Mod

Discussion in 'Modding Worklogs' started by fauxhound, Apr 30, 2009.

Tags:
  1. fauxhound

fauxhound New Member

Hello all, and welcome to the work log for my first recorded case mod project.

I'll be attempting to mod a PC into an attache case, something I know isn't particularly original, however I haven't done it yet, so that's all the originality I need:p
    I'm planning on modding the motherboard and other components into the base, and a screen (as large as possible) into the top, with ideally, enough room left over for a keyboard and mouse to fit inside when closed.

Before I get started, I should probably say a little about me;
    I'm an engineering student who has finished advanced diploma at Tafe, and is considering uni, but would prefer to jump straight into the industry. Unfortunately the current economic conditions means no one's looking to take on juniors like me.
    This results in me being a bit bored and needing to build something. If anyone knows an engineering company that's in Perth and might be interested in someone who can use Inventor and Solidworks, can design and source parts and generally engineer things; let me know ;P

First, the victim;

http://www.jaycar.com.au/products_uploaded/productLarge_1094.jpg

One standard aluminium attache case from Jaycar Electronics. Hopefully I wont have too much trouble removing everything inside it.
    I'll give some real pics once it turns up.

And now, some 3D sketches.
    I started with the dimensions of the case, 455x330x152, then measured up all the components i'll be putting into it; power supply, motherboard and graphics card, dvd drive and hard drive. If you're having trouble seeing the hard drive, it's a 2.5" Notebook hard drive (that was originally in my PS3) that's attached to the side of the PSU in these pictures.
    [​IMG]