1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

"You can't do that on Linux". Rubbish!

Discussion in 'Other Operating Systems' started by vladtepes, Apr 21, 2020.

1. vladtepes

vladtepes Member

So the Minister for War and Finance is now working from home (government job).

For (reasons) my three windows computers are all not working at the moment.

Anyway the instructions the missus got from her work, to log on remotely, only mentioned Windows computers and Apple Macs. She had been told that its not possible to do it with Linux.

Well I am FAR from a Linux expert but I was almost certain that was bovine excrement.

So a quick look at the mentioned Citrix site - yep there are all sorts of options for Linux.
    I first saw a tarball but as I don't know how to compile from those I kept looking - ah look deb files.
    Download, click, installed, sorted.

No harder than doing it for Windows.

Government idiot. Nil. Me 1.

HyRax1 likes this.
  2. HyRax1

HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

Nice one!

We're slowly migrating to Microsnot Teams at work, which is great for me because it has far better Linux support than Skype for Business and gives me less reason to pull out the Windows 10 laptop for the one and only task I use it for - SfB.

IT keep asking me if I've installed the Teams app, and I keep telling them I don't need to - the web app works just fine (and the Linux app is essentially a wrapper for the web version anyway).

When people see me going through my mail on the Outlook 365 web portal, they all comment "How come your mail is so much faster than mine?" - because the Outlook client is horribly slow and when I search, it's the server doing that, not my PC struggling on a massively huge locally cached PST file that corrupts every few days!