Your recent acquisitions, or what retro have you bought lately?

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by power, Feb 20, 2011.

  1. Mickatroid

    Mickatroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,586
    Location:
    Canberra
    Winner, winner chicken dinner. Gotta admire a man who knows what he wants and lands it :leet:
     
  2. Flamin Joe

    Flamin Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    5,086
    Location:
    4300
    But then where will my PC3's sleep? :confused:
     
  3. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,957
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Kick wifey out of bed:Paranoid: Haha man up
     
  4. eviladrian

    eviladrian Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    869
    Location:
    Sydney
    Just got my Megadrive component video cable from HD Retrovision ( http://www.hdretrovision.com/genesis/ )


    Click to view full size!



    Click to view full size!



    Click to view full size!


    It looks great on my Sharp TV, but just shows black on the Samsung in the bedroom.

    One weird thing I noticed is that if I put Sonic 2 on the Samsung and let it run, when it shows the 2-player demo the picture comes on. I can only assume the splitscreen mode is actually changing the signal to a mode the TV can understand.
     
  5. zebu

    zebu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    919
    Location:
    Albury
    from memory i think used an interlaced mode that was twice the vertical resolution

    like 320x480 rather than 320x240 (or whatever it was)

    old consoles used a lot of tricks that worked on CRTs but modern scalers just hate.
     
  6. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,935
    Location:
    At a desk
    I've had more success with SCART to HDMI scalers than other methods, personally.

    Amiga's for example had screenmodes like 320x256 (classic low-res PAL) and then 640x256 (also PAL) for extra vertical resolution but wasn't interlaced (making for vertically rectangular pixels), however 640x512 was interlaced for square pixels and of course flickers on a traditional display.

    A current HDMI scaler shows 640x512 quite well scaled up to 720p or 1080p, or pixel for pixel on an 800x600 display, it just has an extra whitespace border around it.

    The same principle will apply for most older consoles.
     
  7. zebu

    zebu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    919
    Location:
    Albury
    how has they been for input lag from the scaler?

    im hard pressed to justify $400+ for a xrgb mini framemiester for my PAL NES.
     
  8. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,935
    Location:
    At a desk
    If I use the 4:3 output modes on my scaler, the lag is imperceptible, but I'm locked into 60Hz for those modes which means 50Hz software will frameskip a little. Naturally 60Hz software looks perfect. Gaming feels completely natural.

    If I use 720p or 1080p modes however, it will happily do 50Hz or 60Hz output, but there's a tiny bit of lag in 720p mode (but not enough that you couldn't compensate for it) and enough lag in 1080p mode to be annoying (and there's no visual benefit either when you're scaling up from 320x240 thereabouts!). The 4:3 screen is also stretched to fill the 16:9 display, so I tend to use 1280x1024@60Hz output most of the time (selectable with a push button on the box to cycle through the modes).

    You don't need to. I bought my RGB SCART to HDMI box for $90 a couple of years ago, but now they're as low as $40 (and some other makers are about $5-$10 cheaper again). Here's the one I use: http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/261831543228

    You can use any standard RGB SCART cable with it, opening the door to hooking up all your old gear that had official RGB SCART cables available for them. Works great on my Amigas and PS1 and the picture quality is excellent. Just make sure you don't get the cheaper cables that only hook up Composite video and not the RGB lines (you can easily tell which one you've got since colours like red will bleed badly on a non-RGB cable).
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2016
  9. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    11,835
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    Ballistix FTW!
     
  10. dacow

    dacow Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    470
    Location:
    Sydney
    Can't wait to see Flaming Joe's write up of his new PC's when they arrive!! :thumbup::thumbup:
     
  11. nimmers

    nimmers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,295
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah the split screen mode in sonic 2 is a higher resolution.
     
  12. neoprint

    neoprint Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    444
    Location:
    Cairns
    Client just gave me an old IBM aptiva to "dispose" of.

    Pentium III 450MHz, what looks like a Savage and I haven't checked the RAM yet. It's going home with me.
     
  13. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,957
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    > Pristine $200 < soon very soon
     
  14. dirkmirk

    dirkmirk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,721
    Location:
    Shoalhaven - Gods Country
    I got given a k6-2 500 Aptiva a few years ago, saw the lack of ISA & AGP port and trashed it but I kind of regret it now:Paranoid:!
     
  15. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,957
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Ah well you won't do it again. :tongue:

    Some more bounty. Not give a crap if some ddr3 in the pic.
    Phil you must have been good, your board arrived.
    But I have no processor I'm sure to test it. :(

    [​IMG]
     
  16. philscomputerlab

    philscomputerlab Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,843
    Cool!

    Not much arrived for me lately. Got two games: 7th Guest and 11th Hour. And a friend gave a box with some old parts, 2 motherboards, a PCI FX5200 which needs some love and new caps, RAM, CPU that sort of thing.
     
  17. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,557
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Bought a few things lately. I'll post some photos over the weekend.

    Pride of place is a GeForce FX5900 Ultra. Wanted one of these infamous cards for a while. :D
     
  18. philscomputerlab

    philscomputerlab Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,843
    Bid for a 7900GS yesterday but it went for over 50 pounds :lol:

    I'll just stick with the regular 7800 GS.
     
  19. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,957
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Too right.

    Funny though now you look at it. Ask a little too much for your computer parts.......scoundrel :thumbdn:

    Better wake up the rest of the world. Old parts not rubbish, not cheap :p
     
  20. shirl

    shirl Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    sydney
    bought a 4870x2 for 45 delivered,2x 7800 ultras not retro yet but im collecting,5xk6-2 chips 300mhz to 500mhz 20 delivered and alot more hording going on here :tongue:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: