Your recent acquisitions, or what retro have you bought lately?

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by power, Feb 20, 2011.

  1. Matcat

    Matcat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    adelaide
    It came with a Sapphire 2600xt and a fx 55 :)
    It also came borked, seller refunded
    It powers on and after about 1 minute turns off, is that caps? only troubleshooting ive done is ram. thanks
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2018
  2. JidaiGeki

    JidaiGeki Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    985
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    To get those two parts for free is a nice score :thumbup:

    Shame the Shuttle doesn't work but yeah sounds like caps. Could be caps in the PSU as well, you can pull the motherboard out and should be able to test with a standard ATX, but you might need to pull out the front panel assembly to make it all work on a bench setup.
     
  3. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    711
    Took me a while to track this puppy down.. and when I did, it got lost in the mail for nearly 6 months, turned up in a dark sorting facility in anchorage. finally it arrived at my house in Dubai. Bloody hell. Its a nice addition to my Dual 400Mhz Octane 2. Anyways without further adue..

    SGI O2+ (purple people eater)
    Nfi whats inside it, as I haven't opened it up yet. Couple of 128MB ram sticks present to go inside, obviously depending on what I find inside.
    Took me about 2 years to find, ive owned a bunch (read 10+ O2's before, but never a purple O2+, they are rare as hell.. in an already rare as hell computer division.

    Quick few picks..

    Skins look perfect..
    No damage, sadly no PSU rear plastic cover. :(

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Cheers
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2018
    Phido and adz like this.
  4. dirkmirk

    dirkmirk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,514
    Location:
    Shoalhaven - Gods Country
    [​IMG]

    286 motherboard with 640kb of ram, the reason I bought this board because it has a harris 286-25 CPU and I won the auction for a far price, one of those impulsive purchases in case I ever build a high end 286, unfortunately no simm memory but on to another related purchase.
    [​IMG]

    Hypertec ISA memory card with a WHOPPING 8meg or RAM!
    I would dread to think how much this card was worth back in 1988 LOL!

    [​IMG]

    Arima HDAMA, only reason I bought this board is because of my obsession for PCI cards and the curiosity of PCI-X slots, this boards supports up to 133mhz, Ive got a few cards to test, interestingly no onboard sound a proper server system, the other idea was a Pentium server board but I like to do things a bit differently so went with AMD.
    The price was only around $43 shipped from germany, that electromyne seller to be exact they have listings on ebay and their website.

    [​IMG]

    Opteron 254 - socket 940, this was only $10 shipped back in the day was released at $854USD! OUCH!, Just love the idea of playing around with stupid expensive hardware thats dirt cheap now!

    I suppose theirs better options for the motherboard for outright speed but Im testing games around early 2000, pretty sure dual care wasn't a thing until the late 00s
     
    adz likes this.
  5. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,211
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Electromyne has some good vintage pc parts for not much money.
     
  6. mrgareth

    mrgareth Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Melbourne
    EDIT - Deleted and moved to the big box gaming thread instead :)
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2018
  7. Matcat

    Matcat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    adelaide
    its shuttle pc video card guessing game again, same box as before but this time a mystery nvidia card


    Click to view full size!
     
  8. OP
    OP
    power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,356
    Location:
    brisbane
  9. Matcat

    Matcat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    adelaide
  10. OP
    OP
    power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,356
    Location:
    brisbane
    maybe the shuttle is an nforce one? In which case GL, most of them hated ati cards.
     
  11. Matcat

    Matcat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    adelaide
    nforce 3 250
     
  12. OP
    OP
    power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,356
    Location:
    brisbane
    heh, see your ebay sellter doesn't know what you bought a random dude on OCAU does! I eagerly await you confirming the GPU.
     
  13. matz

    matz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    Sydney
    Been on the lookout for one of these for a while, ended up with 2!

    [​IMG]
     
    adz, JidaiGeki and Flamin Joe like this.
  14. mrgareth

    mrgareth Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Holy moly how did you manage to score those? I check them out on ebay from time to time but they are VERY hard to find (in Australia anyway). If it's OK to ask, how much did they set you back?!? Are those the original versions with the bugs that the older Sierra games exploit?

    I only just figured out how to use "soundfounds" in ScummVM for better sound (the "FatBoy" ones from the link here), but as always - it's not fun if it's not the real thing. :)
     
  15. matz

    matz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    Sydney
    Was bidding for one on ebay and once the price went over $200 it became a bit rich for my liking, so went looking on Gumtree and found these. The seller wouldn't separate them and wanted $300 for both.

    Anyway not sure if they are the 'original' versions, how do you tell?
     
  16. mrgareth

    mrgareth Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Melbourne
    The first gen doesn't have a headphone socket :) link here Apparently Sierra figured out how to exploit some bugs in the original version to make the MT-32 do some things it's not meant to do, so quite a few of their earlier games use that "feature" :) No idea how different they are, I just thought it was pretty cool they did that.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2018
  17. zebu

    zebu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    Albury
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2018
  18. mrgareth

    mrgareth Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I think you posted the wrong link there :)
     
  19. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    985
    Location:
    Australia
    Crikey, I've given 2 of those away in recent years. What was I thinking?
     
  20. ohayes

    ohayes Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    562
    Location:
    Sydney
    Matz always gets good buys well done mate
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: