1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Your recent acquisitions, or what retro have you bought lately?

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by power, Feb 20, 2011.

  1. OP
    OP
    power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    63,146
    Location:
    brisbane
  2. Flamin Joe

    Flamin Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4,786
    Location:
    4300
    In all my years as a tech I think I've only ever seen one RDRAM system.

    It reminds me of BTX. The distie I was working for at the time thought it would be a bright idea to get on early with the BTX bandwagon so they loaded up with boxes of MSI BTX motherboards and a few cases. I built maybe two BTX systems and we probably sold maybe a handful of motherboards and cases but that was it. Still had about 3 or 4 boxes (10 per box) of motherboards going to waste.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    63,146
    Location:
    brisbane
    I started in retail a little after RD was a thing every single machine that came in with RD the boards were stuffed. The other techs would all groan - these machines had a reputation ;)

    BTX we did a fair bit of and as a concept I liked it - i know it and some of the other cooling standards were there to overcome heat specifically but cheap china case rules the day in whitebox land. Dell did a nice BTX chassis.
     
  4. shredder

    shredder Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    13,532
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Do you ideally want two of those screen controller things then, for a 2P Wii U setup? They all seem to have only 1.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    63,146
    Location:
    brisbane
    you can only use one gamepad at a time. the machine only ships with one too. even if you do sync a second one there are literally no games that support two.
     
  6. shredder

    shredder Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    13,532
    Location:
    New Zealand
    OK, so the screen controller is just an optional 1P thing then. That's good. The only Wii U I've ever played is emulated Mario Kart 8. Thought I wouldn't mind a real one sometime. Pretty much just to hit that and a couple of other games with the mrs occasionally.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    63,146
    Location:
    brisbane
    it's not really optional. You would never own a Wii U without the gamepad.

    The ideal mix is gamepad, pro controller and maybe Wii Motes (mostly for Wii games).
     
  8. shredder

    shredder Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    13,532
    Location:
    New Zealand
    OK. I just assumed there would be 2P Wii U games where both players would use the same type of controller. I wouldn't really want to play 2P games where one player has a different type than the other.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    63,146
    Location:
    brisbane
    you aren't always forced to use the gamepad, but you need one for general operation and stuff.

    it depends on the games.
     
  10. adz

    adz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,527
    Location:
    ಠ-ಠ
    I sometimes feel like I'm the only one who has a soft spot for RDRAM :(
     
    deevus likes this.
  11. OP
    OP
    power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    63,146
    Location:
    brisbane
    SDRAM conquers all!
     
    adz likes this.
  12. deevus

    deevus Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW
    What should I do with the system?
     
  13. grommet80

    grommet80 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    496
    Location:
    Lismore NSW
    Yeah, Id have to drive to the Gold Coast or Brisbane. Regional Centre problems. It's all Playstaion or Xbox.
     
  14. adz

    adz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,527
    Location:
    ಠ-ಠ
    Whatever your heart desires, I've always found RDRAM based machines to be very snappy, if you're running Win98, you only need 512MB (2x256) and you're rocking.
     
  15. DonutKing

    DonutKing Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,375
    Location:
    Tweed/Gold Coast
    It's decent nerd cred to have an RDRAM system, I've always wanted one for the curiosity value.

    I will suggest though, if its a Willamette core CPU, upgrade it to a Northwood if you can - the difference is night and day. It's probably a socket 423 so might be hard to find a suitable CPU, though.
     
  16. deevus

    deevus Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW
    I'll do some more research. I need to get a working IDE HDD to install Windows onto as well. The one that I had died while trying to install.
     
  17. deevus

    deevus Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW
    Well that's lucky because that's how much RAM it has :)
     
  18. OP
    OP
    power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    63,146
    Location:
    brisbane
    put it off too long and these WILL go up, they appear to have come about as close as a system with this many units sold will go IMO.

    that said, the bulk of the library is now on Switch - however the best versions of Windwaker and Twilight Princess are still on this platform if Zelda is your thing. Not only that but modded they make about the best Wii/GC/Wii U you can own.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2020
  19. Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,845
    Location:
    Canberra
    PowerPC baby

    E933AEF9-6B4C-4A80-BBDC-42EA24FE498B.jpeg
     
    Pierre32, Vanne and greencamel65 like this.
  20. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,445
    How much vram, these make a great morph os box.
    I regret selling my 1.4 WiFi/Bluetooth one.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: