Your recent acquisitions, or what retro have you bought lately?

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by power, Feb 20, 2011.

  1. rugger

    rugger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    662
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    You are so lucky I didn't get it first! I mistook it for the kinda useless MIF-IPC card, which is kinda useless because it only worked on the XT according to wikipedia:

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MPU-401

    Definitely have to let us know how it goes.
     
    Pierre32 likes this.
  2. dirkmirk

    dirkmirk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,842
    Location:
    Shoalhaven - Gods Country
    elvis, MUTMAN, Pierre32 and 3 others like this.
  3. rugger

    rugger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    662
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    My PAS16 finally arrived pas16.jpg

    Given how long it has taken, hopefully people understand when I get a bit cantankerous about how long shipping takes!
     
    bester, MUTMAN, Flamin Joe and 5 others like this.
  4. rugger

    rugger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    662
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Tried the PAS16 in a Pentium 75 build last night .... sorta worked. (SB emulation/FM ok, Native not working)

    However, today arrived:
    * Cirrus Logic 5429 1Meg VLB card
    * AWE64 Value
    * ALS100 ISA Sound card.

    So I guess I'll be pulling out the 486 DX-66 motherboard for a good old test session!
     
    Pierre32, badmofo, MUTMAN and 2 others like this.
  5. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,488
    Location:
    Australia
    Those PAS16's also need a 5v rail on ya PSU, so if you're using an ATX->AT converter in your P75 then that might be in the mix.
     
    baronbaldric, rugger and Pierre32 like this.
  6. rugger

    rugger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    662
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    No, the Pentium 75 was using an old AT power supply. I did read that the PAS16 needs a -5V rail. It might just not like the system. I'll try a 486 tonight.
     
    badmofo likes this.
  7. rugger

    rugger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    662
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Looks like my recent acquisitions have been a mixed bag:

    Pro Audio Studio 16 card -> After trying it on the 486-DX2/66, does kinda work, but cuts out after a little bit and stops working with native sound. Probably needs reflowing of chips or something is screwing up IRQ/DMA transfers for native sound.
    ALS100 card -> Works fine.
    AWE64 card -> Works fine.
    Cirrus Logic 5429 VLB card -> Does not display image. Might be bad RAM, or bad controller.

    Surprisingly, I also found my old ALS100 card actually still works fine, it is actually the pentium 75 that requires some investigation. It originally worked fine hosting an ALS100 card, but somewhere along the line it stopped working on that system. Will need to revert the system back to Pentium MMX-200 with SDRAM and recheck all the jumpers, see if I can find where it all went wrong.

    Once I get myself a hot air station, I can probably diagnose/fix the PAS16 and the VLB card.
     
    BiggusDickus and Vanne like this.
  8. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    10,128
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    RETRO *nudge nudge wink wink* say no more!
     
    MUTMAN, WuZMoT and Vanne like this.
  9. Pierre32

    Pierre32 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    1,276
    Location:
    Sydney
    Picked up this today on assignment from my mum, who learned about the existence of Wii bowling this year :lol: Joining the retro gaming ranks at the age of 72.

    upload_2021-4-23_17-36-20.png
     
    Fitzi, adz, BiggusDickus and 6 others like this.
  10. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    44,559
    Location:
    Brisbane
    By all accounts, Wii Bowling is hugely popular in retirement villages and nursing homes. I think a big chunk of Wii consoles where sold just for those party-sports games.
     
    Vanne, adz and Pierre32 like this.
  11. rugger

    rugger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    662
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Should have got a Wii-U ... easier to connect to newer TVs. (But I also got the regular Wii tossed in when I bought a Wii-U second hand)
     
  12. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    44,559
    Location:
    Brisbane
    WiiUs are going for silly prices at the moment. Meanwhile, you can pick up a Wii and trivially mod it for peanuts.

    Zero lag, non-scaling YPbPr to HDMI converters are plentiful on AliExpress as well, and cheap. They'll work fine with the Wii's EDTV 480p output.
     
  13. Pierre32

    Pierre32 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    1,276
    Location:
    Sydney
    Don't worry, their plasma is about the same vintage!

    And yes, can't beat the value.
     
    rugger and Vanne like this.
  14. rugger

    rugger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    662
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    True, you can get Wii's for silly cheap money :) And you can get a component cable for the Wii to help improve picture output.
     
    Pierre32 and Vanne like this.
  15. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,527
    Location:
    DXB.. mostly.
    Component makes a HUGE difference on wii.. HUGE!!! If your playing on a CRT, its my fave way to connect.
     
    Pierre32 likes this.
  16. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    44,559
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Well for starters you're limited to 480i without one. 480p doubles the line count ("resolution" in analogue speak).
     
  17. kjparker

    kjparker Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sydney
    Got an example of a non terrible one?
     
  18. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    44,559
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Any of these cheap ones are lag free:

    https://a.aliexpress.com/_m0j9tGV

    https://a.aliexpress.com/_msBchQh

    They're a pure ADC, no scaling, no features or menus. Whatever resolution goes in, comes out.

    Picture quality is pretty ordinary. If you want better from there, you have to go up to the RetroTink 2X-M, or an OSSC.
     
    baronbaldric likes this.
  19. Pierre32

    Pierre32 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    1,276
    Location:
    Sydney
    So I was just digging though the shed, and:

    upload_2021-5-1_9-13-0.png

    :lol: I thought I donated this to someone years ago.

    It would have been too shabby to give to mum anyway, so I'll be happy to keep this one for myself. Component cable :thumbup:
     
    rugger and MUTMAN like this.
  20. rugger

    rugger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    662
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    If it is gamecube compatible, all the better.
     
    Pierre32 and MUTMAN like this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: