Z390chipset, i9 9900k i79700k and i5

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by kot0005, Jun 28, 2018.

  1. kot0005

    kot0005 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    melbourne
    sammy_b0i likes this.
  2. rireland

    rireland Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    74
    If it wasn't for amd we would still be getting quad core launches with a minor speed bump that require a new chipset for some unexplainable reason.
     
    unityofsaints and ae00711 like this.
  3. Hakka691

    Hakka691 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Bendigo VIC
    AMD are the ones that caused the whole thing by making shit CPUs for years.
     
  4. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,725
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Indeed. Started with the Thuban architecture.

    [​IMG]
     
    Rusty, Fischbitz, Rugal and 1 other person like this.
  5. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,419
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    But then it became...

    [​IMG]
     
  6. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,419
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    And another favourite...

    [​IMG]
     
    Hive, tunksy and Rubberband like this.
  7. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    10,887
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q4109
    i'd prefer more multithreaded chips through the stack like amd does.

    maybe it's a yield issue, dont know.

    ...for a 4c/8t cpu you're still obliged to get a 7700k. ...

    that's the way it is: no competition, no change. :D
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2018
  8. c4dderly

    c4dderly Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    950
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Interesting to see what clocks these chips will ship with and the overclocking capability.
     
  9. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,661
    Location:
    nsw meth coast
    so to reward amd for their hard work you buy intel...
    ????
     
  10. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,076
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    Thuban was a good cpu.
     
  11. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,725
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Mediocre at best, especially the X6 Phenom II's, ran hot and overclocked like dog shit. Where it did shine against older i7's was multi-threaded applications but once the i7's overclocked different story. Also Phenom's were cheap. The older i7 920/930 quad's C1 stepping fared a lot better and overclocked like gems.
     
  12. akashra

    akashra Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,721
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    I would kinda like Intel to give me a 16 core CPU that runs at say 2GHz.
     
  13. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,419
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    Plenty of cheap xeons do that already.
     
  14. akashra

    akashra Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,721
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    Yeah - but I want it on ATX, mATX, or using plain old DDR4.
     
  15. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,419
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    Yes...? That's been a thing for years?

    Edit, well, maybe not years.
     
  16. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,419
    Location:
    ACT 2913
  17. Radley

    Radley Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,313
    Location:
    Coffs Harbour
    That's fucking gold.

    Does that E5 CPU linked work with X99??
     
  18. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    9,198
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    Not a new node or derivative , 14nm++ is what current 8700k is built on.

    and no there isn't any new architecture - not for some time. Skylake, Kabylake, Coffeelake, and this 8 core are all unaltered Skylake architecture.

    Cannonlake, Icelake are node shrinks of Skylake with some uArch enhancments (of unspecified nature currently - except for inclusion of AVX512 and some new instructions)
     
  19. bobster

    bobster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,003
    Location:
    Sydney
  20. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,419
    Location:
    ACT 2913

Share This Page