1. Win some Crucial goodies in OCAU's Christmas Treasure Hunt!
    Dismiss Notice

Z390chipset, i9 9900k i79700k and i5

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by kot0005, Jun 28, 2018.

  1. kot0005

    kot0005 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    654
    Location:
    melbourne
    sammy_b0i likes this.
  2. rireland

    rireland Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    If it wasn't for amd we would still be getting quad core launches with a minor speed bump that require a new chipset for some unexplainable reason.
     
  3. Hakka691

    Hakka691 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Bendigo VIC
    AMD are the ones that caused the whole thing by making shit CPUs for years.
     
  4. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,789
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Indeed. Started with the Thuban architecture.

    [​IMG]
     
    matt3429, l_ QuadX_l, Rusty and 3 others like this.
  5. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,465
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    But then it became...

    [​IMG]
     
    l_ QuadX_l likes this.
  6. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,465
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    And another favourite...

    [​IMG]
     
    Hive, tunksy and Rubberband like this.
  7. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    11,725
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q4109
    i'd prefer more multithreaded chips through the stack like amd does.

    maybe it's a yield issue, dont know.

    ...for a 4c/8t cpu you're still obliged to get a 7700k. ...

    that's the way it is: no competition, no change. :D
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2018
  8. c4dderly

    c4dderly Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    971
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Interesting to see what clocks these chips will ship with and the overclocking capability.
     
  9. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,661
    Location:
    nsw meth coast
    so to reward amd for their hard work you buy intel...
    ????
     
  10. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    Thuban was a good cpu.
     
  11. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,789
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Mediocre at best, especially the X6 Phenom II's, ran hot and overclocked like dog shit. Where it did shine against older i7's was multi-threaded applications but once the i7's overclocked different story. Also Phenom's were cheap. The older i7 920/930 quad's C1 stepping fared a lot better and overclocked like gems.
     
  12. akashra

    akashra Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,730
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    I would kinda like Intel to give me a 16 core CPU that runs at say 2GHz.
     
  13. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,465
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    Plenty of cheap xeons do that already.
     
  14. akashra

    akashra Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,730
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    Yeah - but I want it on ATX, mATX, or using plain old DDR4.
     
  15. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,465
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    Yes...? That's been a thing for years?

    Edit, well, maybe not years.
     
  16. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,465
    Location:
    ACT 2913
  17. Radley

    Radley Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,404
    Location:
    Coffs Harbour
    That's fucking gold.

    Does that E5 CPU linked work with X99??
     
  18. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    9,293
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    Not a new node or derivative , 14nm++ is what current 8700k is built on.

    and no there isn't any new architecture - not for some time. Skylake, Kabylake, Coffeelake, and this 8 core are all unaltered Skylake architecture.

    Cannonlake, Icelake are node shrinks of Skylake with some uArch enhancments (of unspecified nature currently - except for inclusion of AVX512 and some new instructions)
     
  19. bobster

    bobster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Sydney
  20. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,465
    Location:
    ACT 2913

Share This Page