Z390chipset, i9 9900k i79700k and i5

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by kot0005, Jun 28, 2018.

  1. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,060
    Location:
    on the edge
    I redid the hobby shack on the weekend, shifting a ton of shit around, kitchen bench on the other wall.
    So I can take advantage of strong easterly winds this time of year passive cooling. ie Where the x3 morrads radiators are. Not in pic they have x3 25cm ceiling fans fitted, quite the cyclone I can tell you :leet:
    This is the aftermath of 5L of coolant & 2 hrs of freeing trapped air.

    [​IMG]
    http://www.mediafire.com/view/qdnqsav2bgw1sen/P9150326.JPG/file

    I like the Galax HOF just fine. But my timings are not the best. I see many scores in front ... where I can improve my own bios settings.
    x299 Evga Dark is a tough one to learn & no go fast profiles like an Apex

    https://hwbot.org/submission/4072087_
    This processor in that Thermaltake level10 it's a strong little bugger
     
    adamsleath and Bullants like this.
  2. AlliZ

    AlliZ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    Ask Google
    yeah fits the profile of a mad scientists rig thats for sure
     
  3. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,060
    Location:
    on the edge
    Less than ideal though. Sometimes you need a second watercooling system nearby for the gpu's.
    So as a quick setup going towards winter, left will be my 8086K machine, Above that another like for pentium/ non K skylake racing.
    Somewhere the low power itx for the internet. Updates shit me, messing with the files :tired:
    ... a mess of KVM's screens, keyboards. Minimum.
     
  4. Partha

    Partha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    So if I change the priority of Cinebench in the Task Manager to High or RealTime, the score goes up in Cinebench, So I should consider this as cheating right ?

    This is 9900k at 5.1 Ghz

    Here's my Cinebench Run with "normal" priority. I scored 2177.

    [​IMG]

    But then when I set the Priority to High in Task Manager the score went up to 2203, and setting the Priority to "RealTime", the score went up to 2231

    [​IMG]
     
  5. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,060
    Location:
    on the edge
    All as expected there, but without processor + memory cpu-z tabs it's meaningless data
     
  6. Partha

    Partha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Are you after this one Shane41 ?

    [​IMG]
     
  7. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,060
    Location:
    on the edge
    https://hwbot.org/submission/4079033_

    More like this one. MB tabs not so necessary but show bios version.
    Temp monitoring is just my personal use really ... be sure on a long bench it's within a point loss limit. :Paranoid: ie
    Your 8700K 8086K 9900K will make better score around 70 deg. Hotter then output/ stability lessens.

    I see it running Cinebench hard, score bounces a lot. But cool temps, volts up & scores are more consistant

    edit. Also not crops. Taskbar visible
     
  8. DarkSnipa

    DarkSnipa Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    425
    Location:
    Perth
    Hi guys I just figured out my 9900K will need about 1.27V to pass CB R15 at 5GHz all cores, is this chip any good? I am yet to test the chip with AVX P95 when memory is also overclocked.
     
  9. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,060
    Location:
    on the edge
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2019
  10. DarkSnipa

    DarkSnipa Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    425
    Location:
    Perth
    Haven't tried it, my MSI ITX motherboard VRM cannot handle the overclocked 9900K is a bigger problem :(
     
  11. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,060
    Location:
    on the edge
    Righteo board may not give best indication of low volt. I'll test it for ya :weirdo:
    Headins R15 5Ghz may well be hurt
     
  12. Partha

    Partha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Hi Shane41

    This image shows the bios version and Mobo, this is a new run just now with Cinebench set to RealTime Priority. I still feel this is cheating to get a higher score ?
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2019
  13. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,060
    Location:
    on the edge
    Better. Your screen capture app is cropping. It's another setting in it. Swap Spd tab for memory one :thumbup:
    That then is about min requirement for HWbot lately
     
  14. Partha

    Partha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Ah silly me, here is it with the Memory TAB. I am using Windows Snip to take the screengrab. Here is the full screen grab.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 20, 2019
  15. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,060
    Location:
    on the edge
    Ah now I see said the blind man. 4K screen? Then you have 3000 rams tuned up :wired: What other benches have you done?
    2200 is a good start on R15
     
  16. glnn_23

    glnn_23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    418
    Buildzoid's ROG Max XI Apex PCB breakdown.
    I might have to get one of these.

     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2019
  17. DarkSnipa

    DarkSnipa Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    425
    Location:
    Perth
    The only problem there is no way to buy a Maximus XI Apex locally, EVGA Z390 Dark is way too expensive which is about 770 on Newegg :( Not sure if I should go with Gene this time around.
     
  18. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,060
    Location:
    on the edge
    8 phase ... will it give more strength to 9900K ... sorry man my brain tuned out after 10 minutes. Need a pillow & a sleep :lol:
     
  19. Plonkflopped

    Plonkflopped Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Brisbane
    OK you O/C gurus. Son has a 9700k that he wants to dabble with. Has been delidded by myself :thumbup: and running direct die with a custom loop. Current temps with 100% load usually hovers around 68-70 degrees. All stock settings on an MSI MPG Z390 Carbon. Have looked at a few guides but most are on the 9900k. Is it just a matter of upping the voltage for 5Ghz and gradually lowering it till unstable ? He's not after massive gains just wants to tell his friends he runs 5Ghz :lol:
     
  20. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,060
    Location:
    on the edge
    Yes. You should tune memory first ... then do manual OC Vcore. Any good modern processor try for Cinebench R15 test 5Ghz 1.2v
    Some will plain not do it. Average processor 1.28v
     

Share This Page