HP ProLiant MicroServer Owners Club! (Attempting to sell here will result in bans)

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by oli, May 10, 2011.

  1. Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,899
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Well I guess since I started this whole mess.....:p

    Put me down for an owner:thumbup:

    Ram = 2 x 1gig ram

    Drives will be
    1 x 2tb
    3 x 1tb
    4 x 500g in CDrom bay
    1 x 250g under CDrom bay

    IBM BR10i sas card

    Will probably put WHS v1 on it, then later if I get 8gig ram will change that to SE11:)
     
  2. Ekliptix

    Ekliptix Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    That looks great, thanks for the info guys!
     
  3. Jenx

    Jenx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Melbourne, Oz
    I have 1 that I'll be using as a storage box, most likely FreeNAS.
    Using the extra RAM stick out of my workmates box (he upgraded to 2x 4GB non-ECC for VM usage) to get me up to 2GB.

    Anyone have thoughts on a good bang for buck RAID-5 capable drive controller? I have a few 2TB HDDs that I'd like to use as a basis for now (thinking 3x in RAID-5 to start with). Something that has potential to link up to an external drive cage in the future would be good, so around 8 drives in total.

    Otherwise I will get some extra 2TB drives for a ZFS array and expansion can be a problem for (future)Jenx.
     
  4. cuahtemoc

    cuahtemoc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,421
    Location:
    Adelaide...ish.
    My first box arrived - with 8gb of ram, be using this one for a VMWare ESXi testbed.
    Second one is due tomorrow or Thursday, fitting that one out with 8gb of ECC, a BR10i, and 5 2tb Hitachi's. This will be setup with Solaris Express 11 running ZFS, with the 5 drives in a RaidZ pool.

    Third one incoming is for GF's dad, setting that up as a basic Windows 2008R2 file server running SickBeard, SABNZD+ and uTorrent.
     
  5. MetalPhreak

    MetalPhreak Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,763
    Location:
    Perth
    Box 1:

    Windows Home Server 2011 - Build for my Dad
    2x2GB Ram
    250GB HDD is going into the 5.25" bay
    2x2TB Samsung F4EGs for now. He has disks already he'll probably add.

    Box 2:

    ESXi / Citrix / Etc Devbox
    2x2GB Ram
    4x1TB WD Greens

    Box 3/4:

    ??? Not sure if these will even be coming
     
  6. Dropbear

    Dropbear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,720
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'll probably leave these running 24x7 but has anyone worked out how to do a timed start?
     
  7. imek

    imek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Sydney
    Got mine today, probably either going to do a FreeNAS setup or WHS 2011, not 100% sure as to which right now though, but will have probably the following when I bother to build it properly:

    2x2TB Samsung F4
    2x1.5TB WDEADS
     
  8. Reginald85

    Reginald85 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Bendigo
    Got mine yesterday :D

    8GB RAM now running ESXi with 3x500GB and the Stock 250GB
     
  9. rugger

    rugger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    272
    Slackware Linux

    Going to load 4x1tb drives I have spare into it ... load slackware linux on it. Will probably leave it at 1gig memory for now.

    I will:

    a) Configure 4 drives into raid 5 array with 128kb stripes.
    b) Install slackware onto the raid 5 array.
    c) Install an old 256meg USB flash chip into the internal USB port.
    d) Put /boot onto the USB flash and install lilo on it.

    That way, linux kernel will boot from the flash chip, assemble the raid 5 array, and then boot normally into linux. This nicely works around the fact that you can't load the linux kernel from a raid 5 array.

    I may at a later stage make it a 2 stage boot, with initrd being loaded from the flash for a recovery style console, but I don't think it really is needed.

    Edit: I will be using it as a backup array for my primary NAS/server unit. Samba is pretty awesome and stuff :)
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2011
  10. Bthree

    Bthree Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Country Vic 3500
    Thats a VERY full house, 9 drives.... and a sas card
    I wonder how the little 200watt power supply will handle the startup load, hope they are not all Seagate Hdd !
     
  11. gbh

    gbh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,175
    Location:
    Sydney
    got my 2 today

    1 will be simple esxi machine with local store and shared store to the other one, will be mainly for OS/app testing

    otherone will be test zfs machine, config to be finalised, both upgraded to 8gig
     
  12. Igneous

    Igneous Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Especially when it's only 150 watts. :eek:
     
  13. GooSE

    GooSE New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    6,679
    Location:
    Sydney
    I've got one on the way - should receive it in a day or 2. If all goes to plan mine will probably get FreeBSD 8.2
     
  14. encode

    encode Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    496
    Location:
    Wollongong
    I've got one, potentially another on the way for the old man.

    I'm running NexentaStor Community Edition with 4 x 2TB disks, plus an 8GB usb stick for the OS drive. Currently only 1GB of ram, but 8GB of ECC Kingston ram on the way.
     
  15. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,923
    Location:
    At a desk
  16. teno45

    teno45 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    Wagga Wagga
    Chalk me up for one.

    Ubuntu Server for File/Print server and MythTV backend.

    Starting with original HDD as boot and WD Caviar green 2tb, will expand hdd and RAM as funds available.
     
  17. Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,899
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Should be ok, as the SAS card will do staggered spinup of 8 drives
    the 4 x 2.5's should drag bugger all, and 3 of the 1tb drives are green....don't know the power usage of the 2tb hitachi or the 250gig drive tho

    see how it goes once all the bits arrive Speshly the 4 bay supernicro...

    Failing that I have some ghetto interesting mods to max this lil sucker right out:leet:
     
  18. MetalPhreak

    MetalPhreak Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,763
    Location:
    Perth
    It's probably 150w continuous rated load, but something like 200w peak.
     
  19. blue_panther9_9

    blue_panther9_9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Got mine today!!! unpacking..and installing RAM and HDDs now..:)


    I mixed 1GB ecc with 4GB non ecc.. it showed up as 5GB on bios..:D
     
  20. Dropbear

    Dropbear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,720
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I did that by mistake too.. made me laugh ;)... pretty cool that it runs and sees it though
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: